Skip to content

My Favorite Login Name,

June 23, 2008

NB: This was written on my old LiveJournal blog and is only relevant to that. I’ll leave it here just for historical interest.

The only disappointment I have found so far with this blog, is that while making a user account, I discovered that my ubiquitous user name Skepticus, had already been taken. The reason I choose this name is by diligent convention. I have an account at thebrights.net forums, as well as richarddawkins.net. I was actually an admin there for the first few months, and I try to use ‘Skepticus’ wherever I go.

I have just typed the url, skepticus.livejournal.com into my browser, to find the account occupied by a Russian fellow. Another surprise, was to find the same thing had happened to him. I had to use a translation tool as I cant read or write in Russian, but basically the relevant bit says:

“Почему Скептикус, а не Скептик? – потому, что, регистрируясь в Живом Журнале, я обнаружил, что под именем Skeptic уже зарегистрировалась девушка из США. Пришлось что-то придумать, и я не выдумал ничего лучше, чем Скептикус.”

And that translates to:

“Why Skeptikus rather than Skeptik? — Because, in registering Live Journal, I discovered that the name is already registered Skeptic girl from the USA. We had something come up, and I have not invented anything better than Skeptikus.”

So from this, we can see that he didn’t actually want the name Skepticus as a first choice anyhow, but rather Skeptic or Skeptik. It also seems that the letter ‘c’ translates from Russian to English with a ‘k’ in personal pro-nouns at least. Also the account has been inactive for over three years and was only used on one day. I hope I can do something about it, as I want to be just Skepticus, the one and only. Perhaps it might be worth suggesting to the good folk here, that a kind of ‘statute of limitations’ be employed for user names for accounts over say one year old. Allow the user name to be given up for re-circulation. Email the user, notify them of the change and allow them log in to their old account with the original password and user name until they log in, set a new user-name then re-validate the account.

First I shall try sending Skepticus a message on LJ like this:

Dear friend. I was reading your profile in live Journal and discovered that you and I have the same problem.

“Why Skeptikus rather than Skeptik? — Because, in registering Live Journal, I discovered that the name is already registered Skeptic girl from the USA. We had something come up, and I have not invented anything better than Skeptikus.”

I was hoping that you might consider closing your account on Live Journal, if you no longer wish to use it, or perhaps a change of name could be arranged. I do have a long history with the user name skepticus on several websites and communities and I have become quite attached Skepticus13 just isn’t quite the same. Thanks for considering this if you wouldn’t mind.

Regards Skepticus13.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 25, 2008 12:48 pm

    I can not close my account on Live Journal

    Dear friend,
    I can not close my account on Live Journal and can not change its name. I do have 3 years long history with the user name skepticus. Thanks for considering this.

    Best regards,
    Skepticus.

    • June 26, 2008 1:04 pm

      Re: I can not close my account on Live Journal

      Dear Skepticus

      Never mind, I will learn to live with Skepticus13. Thanks for responding anyhow my friend. How did the translation tool work for you? It seemed to make very good sense when I translated from Russian to English.

      Being a rationalist and having Skepticus for a user name gives us more than one thing in common. I do hope you drop by and say hello from time to time. It was nice of you to visit my blog.

      Kindest Regards Skepticus13.

Leave a Reply

